Clifton Community School – KS4 Results 2017

There have been four consecutive years of changes to examinations and performance tables which have come into effect, which mean that the performance tables cannot be compared like for like with those of previous years.

In the summer of 2016, the tables were changed drastically, and new headline measures were introduced:

  • A*-C in both English and Maths
  • Progress 8 (a value-added measure)
  • Attainment 8 (an average points score measure)

Plus the “Ebacc”: GCSE grade C or above in English Language, Maths, 2 Sciences, a Modern Foreign Language and History or Geography.

In 2017, students sat the first of the reformed GCSEs in Maths, English Language and English Literature which are graded 9-1 rather than A*-G. These courses are 100% final exam, with no controlled assessment. All other GCSEs remain A*-G, with approximately half reforming for 2018, and the remainder for 2019.

Revised headline measures for 2017 include:

  • Grade 4-9 in both English and Maths (Standard pass)
  • Grade 5-9 in both English and Maths (Good pass)

Plus Progress 8, Attainment 8 and Ebacc.

Old Grade Approx. Equivalent
A*+ 9  
A* 8  
A 7  
A- 6  
B- 5 Good Pass
C- 4 Standard Pass
D 3  
E- 2  
G 1  

The government will report on the percentage of students achieving both a “good pass” (grade 5 or above), and a “standard pass” (grade 4 or above) in English (Language or Literature) and Maths.

2017 Results

KS2 Average Point Score on Entry

  CCS National
2016 24 27.6
2017 25.3 28.5

The Clifton KS2 Average Point Score for the 2017 Year 11 cohort was significantly below the national average. It equates approximately to an average of a level 3a in English and Maths.

Clifton 2017 Results
Grade 5 or above in Ma & Eng 22%
Grade 4 or above in Ma & Eng 43%
5 A*-G 92%
English Baccalaureate  4% (based on grade 5+ in English and Maths, and grade C+ in the other Ebacc subjects

Progress 8 and Attainment 8 measures will be published once confirmed by the Department for Education.

Progress 8 and Attainment 8 count only the following subjects:

  • English (double weighted if both language and literature taken)
  • Maths (double weighted)
  • Best 3 Ebacc subjects (Modern Foreign Language, History, Geography, Science, Computing)
  • Best 3 other approved qualifications from the list published by the Department of Education

Progress 8 is a value-added measure. A Progress 8 score of +1.0 means all students have achieved one full grade above expectations (calculated by the government based on KS2 attainment).

Attainment 8 is an attainment measure. 40 = average grade of a grade C, 55 = B.

The English Baccalaureate (Ebacc) is a combination of subjects which the government believes to be the foundation of a good academic education. The Ebacc must include: English, maths, two sciences, history or geography and a Modern Foreign Language).